Welcome!

Hello & Welcome to my new blog!

I thought, as a geo-communications PhD student, thought it was about time I started communicating my science (now that I have some…), so here is my new blog just for that very purpose.

So to properly introduce myself, my name is Lara and I’m a first year PhD student at Plymouth University, UK. I did my BSc at Portsmouth in Geo-Haz and then went onto do the Master (M1R) Magmas et Volcan in Clermont-Ferrand, France. I relocated back to the UK last September to start my PhD entitled “3D Visualisation of Volcanic Hazards”.

In brief, my project aims to build a new hazard communication tool through the use of video games technology and the concept of serious games. Serious games are games used to educate and train and are becoming more and more prevalent; you would be surprised at all the ways games are being used. We aim to build 3D visualisations of volcanic phenomena for the Caribbean island of St. Vincent as an interactive and fun method of education which has a strong gaming element.

I hope to blog about my research and the progress that we make along the way. It’s an exciting time as we are ready to begin development in the coming weeks. I will also be blogging about other things I find of interest and things I think you might enjoy. Happy reading!

-Lara

Image

Here’s me last summer with the stunning Puy de Dôme in the background!

Leave a Reply

